Kindle Edition Available of What Is Wrong With Scientology

The Kindle edition is now available at Amazon Books, at What Is Wrong With Scientology? Kindle Edition.  The whole introduction and part of Chapter One is available at this link.

In the meantime, Haydn James happened to stop by the other day and I gave him my proof copy which he finished and sent me his feedback on.  He agreed to sharing it with you.

Haydn James’ Review of What is Wrong With Scientology?

Finished reading your book. As an experienced Scientologist, I
wondered: what will I get out of reading it? The answer? A great
deal, a very great deal.

For me it answered a number of unanswered questions, but most of
all (and having finished reading the book I know you will love
this) it confirmed for me that my current spiritual journey and
purpose to help others is as it should be. Not because you, Hubbard
or anyone else told me so or because my views happen to coincide
with yours but because I know it to be true for myself. And that is
incredibly liberating.

I told you when I visited you and Mosey that I have never been
happier. That wasn’t quite true, I am all the happier for having
read your book.

I would have finished reading it sooner but I made the mistake of
putting it down to grab some food, at which point Lucy picked it
up, started reading and wouldn’t give it back. She loved it and
thought it brilliant!

Since I have now read the proof you kindly provided, I thought it
only fair that I also buy it, which I have done and posted a
review. I describe it as “A unique book on Scientology”. And it is.
But I also believe you are the Tom Paine of Scientology. I believe
this book will be to the subject of Scientology and Scientologists
what Common Sense was to the American people and their ultimate
freedom. Just as Tom Paine discussed and destroyed the validity of
willingly giving up ones freedom to an uncontrollable entity known as
“royalty”, you discuss and destroy any notion that one should
become a slave to a subject and organization designed to free
people. Like Paine’s tract “Common Sense”, the truth in your book
is unmistakable and unavoidable.

In a word … brilliant.

Haydn

Print Edition is still available at, What Is Wrong With Scientology? Print Edition

152 responses to “Kindle Edition Available of What Is Wrong With Scientology

  1. eric alexandrou

    hello just bought the book marty thank you.

  2. Yea! We bought three copies of the hard cover book, and two Kindle versions. I love the Kindle version … which, by the way, I read on my iPad AND my iPhone AND my PC (as I do not own a Kindle), and Kindle keeps me synced as to which page I read last.

    I haven’t read enough to comment on the substance of the whole book, but I have read enough to say that, other than William Manchester, who is my very favorite author, I can think of no writer who has a more fluid, a more comprehensible writing style. To me, from my personal point of view, it is that very approachable, non-confrontational, melifluous (if you will) style of writing which is soooooooooo appealing.

    You have created, truly, a work of art, through your manner of expression.

    And, once I’ve read through the book, I suspect, I’ll have the same to say about the substance of it.

    ML
    YKW

  3. eric alexandrou

    im posting from queensland,australia im new to computers my son is helping,getting used to it im getting their thou.i joined staff in melbourne way
    back in 1986 for about 2 years my auditor was mick fay,and my cs was leane fay,had fantastic wins,did the lower levels finnished objectives,in sydney did the ccrd rundown im not clear.felt great,i also worked for mick fay
    but i left the org to make money have a family ,but kept in comm i made my home and was free dept.the year 2000 i lost my wife got killed on the way to work.she was stuck in the body so i applyed what i learned in scieontology,to help her it worked.my 2 boys aged 6 and 7 needed help to ,too young for auditing,i had tuders from the org to help them,i took out a laon of 35,000 for me to run out the inccident the loss of my wife,i got sec checked,but the auditor would say i have a floating needle.i was tould to do dianatics 2 times,other courses 2 times,no twin for purif,from 35000 my account drop to 10,000 still no audting ,oh 5500 for the ias membership on top off the 35000,the staff overworked no pay ,no public just me in course no word clearer,nothing,i walked away thinking it was me that is the problem,the org is dead im so upset about this money is no problem i saved my home ,although i was a stone throw away of moving to flag with my teen boys joining the sea org never mine about 100s of phone calls a week for donations and had everything i own to the sea org,to all the staff at the brisbane org i love you all,i still have hope one day things will be good again,thakyou marty and everyone else for giving people like me hope for a change to wake up

    • Hello Eric,
      thank you for sharing your story with us.
      You bring tears to my eyes and I wish you well and I hope things in your live will change for the better soon.
      Kind regards and lots of ARC,
      SKM

    • “still have hope one day things will be good again”.

      Thank you Eric.

  4. eric alexandrou

    i feel like the convoy clip

    • ……a convey indeed Eric! The UPS and FedEx trucks are probably lined up at the Amazon shipping dock ten trucks deep loading the books for distribution around the world!

  5. Just ordered my copy this morning! Looking forward to every chapter…..I’m sure I will be blowing charge all the way through. Thanks Marty!

  6. Marty,
    I got my Kindle edition last night. Firstly I have to say it is very well written. I was very impressed with the precise and non misemotional way that you present things. Its factual and its real. If anyone has been in or around Scientology for more than 24 hours they are going to have experienced the outpoints that you highlight. As a 12 year Scientologist I see ALL of them.
    A big blow down for me was the Objectives and Ethics sections. I was programmed to redo my objectives after having completed them twice already and the party line at Flag is that some people have to do at least 500 hours. OMG I was even told that by buying the ACC’s we would be given the cognitions that we were supposed to have and they would come easier to us. Talk about feeding a PC a cog! On the ethics section I had major wins. While in the SO it seemed that almost every day there were dozens of staff members dragged into ethics for something or another and between my wife and I at the time we were no exeption. The reason: “talking about how our day went”. It was considered “out ethics” and 2d’s should not converse about post.

    Marty you have inspired me to declare my independence publicly (already done but just in my head) and I’ll do a write up on a blog or letter to you telling my story. You are going to open a lot of eyes with this book. WELL DONE.

  7. Hi Everyone,

    I just did an Amazon review and am sharing it here:

    “While there have been other books that relate some of the general concepts within Scientology as it’s excesses and excuses are sorted through, none have come even close to the level of detail and overall comprehension of the subject brought forward by Mr. Rathbun.

    He not only points to the current regime and how it has reversed Scientology, and it’s spiritual benefits, but clearly links some of these egregious abuses to flaws within the subject, introduced by Ron Hubbard himself. This is valuable on all fronts and but one measure of the quality of the book’s content and authenticity.

    Finally, Rathbun makes important distinctions between the corporate entities known collectively as The Church of Scientology, and the spiritual technology (or applied religious philosophy, if you will) and independent field which is gradually gathering around the subject and working to return it to it’s original, beneficial purpose.

    Bravo, Mr. Rathbun; can’t wait for the next opus!”

    Again, happy reading to all,
    Vic K.

  8. History in the Making, Kindle has so much reach
    for the entire Planet.

  9. Just noticed that while the paperback edition has good reviews on Amazon, there is only ONE review so far for the Kindle edition – and it’s a one-star invalidation. Time for some Kindle-version readers to step up and be heard!

    • Yes, readers of the Kindle edition might go post some reviews there. And ask Vinnie if he has read Marty’s book yet…. :-)

  10. eric alexandrou

    thankyou k frances im well and happy and my two boys alex and andrew are well and happy too,and A.R.C TO YOU TOO

  11. TroubleShooter

    I’m waiting impatiently for my copies of the book to arrive in the mail today! These posts from readers are making my anticipation grow. I look forward to reading it and to meeting you Marty.

  12. eric alexandrou

    SKM THANKYOU WE ARE DOING WELL AND ARE HAPPY .
    ONE WAY OR ANOTHER I CAN SEE THE LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL,IM SURE OF IT, IM WILLY TO HELP ANYWAY I CAN IV WORKED IN DIV 6 BODY ROUTING RAW PUBLIC IN THE ORG,IM NOT BRAGING BUT THE WAY I FEEL NOW ,I DONT THINK I CAN FEEL THE ORG WITH PUBLIC .I NOW BECOURSE IV DONE IT,AROUND 1988 WHEN THE MEDIA WENT CRAZY IN MELBOURE ,I SAID TO MY SELF SAINT HILL SIZE ERIC ,ALMOST DID ALTHOW THE MEDIA,RADIO,NEWS
    PAPERS WENT CRAZY,O.M.G. HOW DID COME TO THIS STATE OF AFFAIRS HERE IN BRISBANE THE ORG IN THE CITY CLOSED,MOVED TO A PLACE OF HIGH CRIME ,THE WINDOWS AT THE ORG WHERE BEING SMASHED CLOSED THEIR TOO,THEN MOVED TO DUDLY STREET YES IN A STREET OF LOW IMPLOYMENT THE ORG THEIR IS DEAD TO O.M.G I SOUND LIKE AN S.P TALKING DEAD ALL THE TIME,ITS TRUE ,ALL OFF IT WHAT IM SAYING IS TRUE.I GOT A PHONE CALL FROM MELBOURNE IDEAL ORG THE LADY SAID DID YOU WE ARE IN A IDEAL ORG,?I SAID HOW MANY CLEARS WHERE MADE?OH,OH,I DONT NOW,I THOUGHT IDEAL ORGS WHERE SAINT HILL SIZE I WAS WRONG,I STILL HAVE HOPE FOR A CHANGE,I FEEL IT,THANKYOU FOR LISTENNIG Thttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqpgNvb_hDU&feature=relatedO ME A.R.C

    • Hello Eric,
      I can see the confusion COBs New Management creates and I understand that.
      You can see many people, as yourself, has recognized it and you will find a lot of data here on the blog and in the book you ordered.
      This will give you further explanation of how things went wrong and its effects on Scientology.

      All best,
      SKM

  13. eric alexandrou

  14. Pingback: Scientology Completions at Casablanca | Moving On Up a Little Higher

  15. Pingback: The Tipping Point For Scientology Inc. | Moving On Up a Little Higher

  16. I look at your life historically, in the big decades’ long patterns of Scientology history

    You are an ARC Break Auditor, unappreciated, plus free speaker outer.

    I wish we could download our brains to yours, so you had our views, but no matter.

    You’re doing good bigtime longrange Marty!

    Thankyou!

    • I’ve started your book, I’ve gone into nitpick history minutia nitpicker mode, but I just can NOT fault you Marty.

      Marty, your going public, your doing what you’ve done these last 4 years, can’t thank you enough!

      So, publicly, thank YOU, Marty Rathbun!

      • I’ll only nitpick you, should you NOT continue telling history, firsthand history, as you choose to tell it.

        I’m for us acting in the highest principled fashion, and Precept 20, the sub section about people striving to act in the highest principled ways, that to me is the best we can do.

        I’ll only nitpick you Marty in the context of your greatest pluspoints, and always remind anyone who listens to my opinions, that going public by ex senior leaders, is always a good thing.

        And to me, that you went public Marty, and that you seemingly plan to be public the rest of your life, that to me, is the all time passing grade, from me, despite any nitpicking I do of your or Hubbard’s writings/ideas.

        No matter your “agenda”, the world is much wiser than most of us will ever learn, so I trust just by going public, and continuing to be public, that you will do the subject of Scientology good in changing any bad there is in the Scientology official movement.

        You did the right thing going public, and that is just really the C of the ARC triangle, and I am so thankful many ex senior members speak freely on your blog here!

        Can’t thank you and all the others enough!

        Chuck Beatty
        412-260-1170

        • As illogical as my next piece of advice will sound, I advise those who love Marty and like overall what Marty’s helping push forward, to please “audit” Marty.

          Karen Jentzsch Delacarriere, please be Marty’s Case Supervisor, and of all the independents, I’ve heard the best kudos for Trey Lotz, but whoever Marty wants to “audit” Marty, I’d consider it an honor were Marty to ask me to audit him!

          He probably could use a session, and I imagine no one’s thought of that, or if they have, then kudos to whoever is auditing Marty!

          (I’m still an atheist, non believer in the tech, but I know that love and respect and empathy is the bottom line why auditing works, and those that love Marty and ARE really the best of the “old LRH trained vintage” who love Marty, please give him a session from time to time!)

          end of completely “brainwashed” Hubbard thinking mindset, that I admittedly can fall into. (But I do think, at moments, LRH was doing all of what he did, all because he loved people, and if that is really true, then good for LRH.)

Leave a Reply

