Can I Get A Witness?

At its core Scientology revolves around the auditing process.  The word auditing comes from the Latin root audire which means to listen, or to listen and compute.  The entire purpose of a Scientology auditor is to provide a construct through which an individual may look at his or her life in such an honest fashion that that which is viewed no longer has a hold on that person.  Scientology postulates that ‘charge’ (mental energy) ‘erases’ through that process.  One could just as easily postulate that one’s witnessed experience objectifies.  That is, one’s experience moves from the subjective (part of, and thus affecting, oneself) to the objective.  In that construct, matters of the mind that tend to drive one on an automatic basis are no longer hidden and automatic.  Objectivized matter of the mind is no more capable of driving you than any other person or idea that you can clearly see as apart from yourself. Your own choice in the matter of what to do, what to choose, what to pursue and what to react to is restored to you.  Each time one witnesses in this wise one recognizes that much more the true nature of self, apart from, and thus less subject to, matter, energy, space and time.  Witnessing led the Buddha toward recognizing the impermanent nature of matter, energy, space and time.

It is my view that any time devoted to honestly viewing the content of your mind, your experience, is progress in moving the external world back out of one’s head where it no longer drives you.  There used to be a saying in Scientology, ‘any auditing is better than no auditing.’  No matter what processes, what grades, what levels attained or not, every hour spent objectivizing the subjective is net gain.  There is so much emphasis included in Scientology about the attainment of grades and levels, and purported permanent states of consciousness that the failure to attain very high on the Scientology Bridge (the chart of progressive grades and levels of spiritual attainment) tends to serve to invalidate the work a person did execute in witnessing his or her own mind.

Scientology contains so much dogma asserting superiority to and difference from all other forms of witnessing that people tend to lose site that they spent a tremendous amount of time and effort doing just that, witnessing.  I use the term ‘witnessing’ because it is a generic term that captures what is at the heart of all effective psychotherapeutic and spiritual practices.  Most forms of meditation (Buddhist, Hindu, Taoist, et al), most forms of psychotherapy, and Scientology too, create a desirable effect to the extent the individual applying it fully, honestly views the mind.

Any meditator who discounts effective psychotherapy that accomplishes the same result as meditation, or any psychotherapist who discounts effective meditation that accomplishes the same result as psychotherapy, is as narrow minded and prejudiced as any Scientologist who discounts meditation and psychotherapy wholesale.   Corollary, any former Scientologist who discounts his own blood, sweat and tears exerted in confronting his own demons with Scientology is selling himself short.  Witnessing is witnessing.  Meditation, effective psychotherapy, and Scientology are all different methods of helping – and are workable to the degree they allow –  an individual to witness his own mind and its experiences.

Do yourself a favor.  Try to consider that someone who has spent time in other similar practices has spent time witnessing just as you did in Scientology.  See if that doesn’t open up an interesting world of increased affinity, reality and communication.  Just as importantly, validate the time and effort you put in likewise.  You might find you are in better shape than you have previously permitted yourself to believe.

145 responses to “Can I Get A Witness?

  1. My current witnessing practice…

    http://www.dhamma.org/

    Yet meditation is still a once removed activity from simply actively living.

    Not being self, the noun, but selfing the verb. Being life, not just witnessing life. The attention stuck in life is that portion not living.
    :)

  2. Marty, I will be a witness to what you say. I use to meditate but the modern world kind of did not allow that. Can you recommend the best form of meditation to do, Zen perhaps? I want to achieve peace of mind and found that meditation helped accomplishing that. Do you have advice?

    • martyrathbun09

      Communication Training Routines 0-9. And/or, the book Self Analysis by L. Ron Hubbard.

      • Meditate and tell people you want this time for yourself, be an hard ass and you will end up a softie for being clear with people about your own needs.

  3. Marty thev Dalai Lama is in aggreement with you.

    “Do yourself a favor. Try to consider that someone who has spent time in other similar practices has spent time witnessing just as you did in Scientology. See if that doesn’t open up an interesting world of increased affinity, reality and communication. Just as importantly, validate the time and effort you put in likewise. You might find you are in better shape than you have previously permitted yourself to believe.”

  4. Marty I throw this in for your better half. It was a better kept secret than the Atom Bomb back in the day

    http://acepilots.com/usaaf_tusk.html

    “The Tuskegee Airmen
    First Group of African-American Fighter Pilots in WW2

    By Stephen Sherman, Feb. 2000. Updated June 29, 2011.”

  5. Tom Gallagher

    I’d like to dedicate this song to L. Ron Hubbard. Yes, there’s been good stuff and times, however there’s been a lot of pain.

  6. “It is my view that any time devoted to honestly viewing the content of your mind, your experience, is progress in moving the external world back out of one’s head where it no longer drives you.”

    As an eclectic who has long since graduated from Scientology and moved on to various “other practices” I must say… well done. You’ve hit the nail right smack on the head.

  7. Brian writes: “Realizations are independent from the procedures used that bring them about. There are no ‘Scientology realizations of spirit’ and ‘meditation realizations of spirit’. There is just knowing.
    Direct perception is an innate soul ability that a technique can reveal when actualities are perceived, thus causing cognitions. The problem starts when procedures suggest what actualities are to be perceived.”

    Brian….This I brilliant…The perspective that you contribute helps transcend divisions, fragmentation among people.

    I like your focus on the realization itself –the quest for realization is what unites all people. Everybody wants a realization. That is what the conversation should be about: the destination, the thirst for betterment that we all share.

    Focusing on the “how”, by contrast, on how my path is different from yours, is what divides: one rapidly arrives at: “My path is better than yours..” and then “you should drop your path and join mine..”
    Why not look at the how with a bit more lightness, and more tolerance?

    Otherwise, before you know it, one is in the very same space where in the name of peace, people have waged war, for many centuries. It’s a distinctively sad characteristic of too many religions to have advocated war with the misguided expectation that the outcome would be peace. My view is that, like war, peace begins with me. The constitution of UNESCO says: “t Since wars begin in the minds of men, it is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed. Ignorance of each other’s ways and lives has been a common cause, throughout the history of mankind, of suspicion and mistrust between the peoples of the world through which their differences have all too often broken into war.”How true…

    Yonne Shick writes: “My door is now open again to any idea, any study, any technique or technology that will move me on up a little higher in my own awareness, my own compassion, my own effectiveness or my ability to relieve the suffer or increase the joy of others.” What an inspiring example of advocacy for peace.

  8. stop defending hubbard!!!!

  9. You wrote a very interesting article and the title is perfect. I meditate, thus I can relate to what you are saying. Meditation helps me focus in life. I am not a Scientologist but I do respect all faiths. Personally, I found too much agitation in some of the writings I have read in your blog. I experience hate, anger, inhumanity while I served in Vietnam. Thus, I no longer follow anyone’s warpath or any nation’s drum beating. Out of curiosity what form of meditation do you practice?

  10. Auditing has given me the most direct witnessing experience of a certain kind – the kind where I am amazed, surprised and thrilled at what I discover. That instantaneous as-ising that gets you hooked and wanting more. Learning and experiencing other witnessing practices such as meditation and various studies has given me something else. I have gained a greatly increased ability to inspect myself and awareness of what I am doing to create any negativities. I also have gained humbleness and compassion, and have lost much ego. It has only enhanced the gains I acheieved from Scientology and helped me to understand it better.

  11. Spyros writes: “There should be 1000s of different ways to get rid of lies. To say that I can, and others can’t……is gross suppression, in my opinion. And my bet is that the person who says that, can’t. A liability of considering that just a single philosophy/religion/science can, is that we shut doors to possibilities.”
    Well said, Spyros. I keep being surprised that, after thousands of years, and innumerable conflicts over religion, it appears that the majority of people believe that their religion is better than others’

    A Religion is basically like looking out your window and describing Divinity as you see it. It is impossible to describe it in its entirety. As a result each religion is expressing the portion of Divinity that the people who created it could see or at least were able to express. Just because you see one thing doesn’t mean that somebody else can’t see a different aspect of Divinity and be just as correct as you are. Just like I see a flower outside my window and you see a whole tree full of flowers out of your window. We’re both right. It’s just that we’re looking at something so big that we each see a different part of it. Just because you don’t see the same thing I do doesn’t mean that I’m wrong. We can both be right if we’re seeing different things.

    The criteria for making one’s religion superior abound: “Science agrees with me, so it must be right..”, It feels true to me, so it must be right”, “Mine is more ancient, therefore it is more right”, “Gold told me it was true, therefore it is right”, “Hardly anybody knows about it, therefore it must be right”, “it is the most popular, therefore it must be right “I do not understand the other religions, therefore mine must be right”,……… and the most challenging: ”, “I have a convincing personal experience, therefore it must be right..”

    There are a few problems with this reasoning. The first problem with it is that many OTHER people around the world have also had similar experiences, but come
    to DIFFERENT conclusions. It is rather unconvincing that there is a single “right path” if people all over the world have similar experiences but come to different conclusions. Another problem is that people have spontaneously experienced profound senses of presence, beauty and awe without exposure to a specific established religion.

    Windhorse writes: “ What we want, I believe, is to discover our buddha mind or buddha nature, which is genuine OTness – compassionate and aware.”

    Windhorse, I can relate to this.. thank you for saying this. I imagine a world where people focus on what they have in common, on what unites them, on the love, beauty, peace that they all seek. How wonderful this would be. It’s up to each of us…

  12. For me, Practices such as NLP and Landmark gave me what I was searching for in Scientology

  13. Truth is truth, from wherever it came.
    I am surrounded by people who’ve gained truth from witnessing in ways that differ from mine. I have so much more affinity for them. But I first had to completely be rid of my holier than thou computation. I had to place myself realistically in their space and asses myself without prejudice. In doing that, I gained much beingness and affinity for what I truly have and for what they truly have.
    We’re very much the same.

  14. I recently asked myself the question: “Why am I following Marty’s blog, why am I taking the time to read hundreds…no, thousands…of comments?”

    I did not have to wait long for the answer. It was almost immediate. And it came with an abundance of verbosity, myriad images and a plethora of artfully crafted analogies, metaphors and allegories. The answer to my question, for several days, dominated my ritual of morning contemplation. It was a process. In the end there was one word that encapsulated the entire answer that took days to parade through. The word is: profundity. I am here for the profound and Marty’s blog (of course, this includes all who comment on the blog) abounds in the profound. For me, anything that incites recognition is profound.

    When I was twenty years of age I read Carlos Castaneda’s book, The Teaching of Don Juan: A Yaqui Way of Knowledge. It was an interesting and entertaining read but there was only one paragraph in the entire book that was profound for me. It was a paragraph that talked about each person having their own path and how important it was that they find (recognize) their path and follow it.

    In a world full of noise how does one find the signal that is their own path?

    Many years later I had a serendipitous encounter with a person wherein we had a very brief “out of the blue” conversation about the so called “rat race.”
    This person made an incredibly profound statement. He said, “It is possible that a person can win the rat race but still remain a rat.”

    We have freedom of choice. In every single moment we can choose for life to be a classroom or something else. I believe that whenever we choose ‘something else’ we are increasing the probabilities that, at the end of the rat race, we will still be a rat.

    I am enormously grateful to you all for both your generosity and your profundity. You are all an immense help in me recognizing my path (my tailor made curriculum).

    Now, here is a excerpt from A Course in Miracles, which I have been exploring followed by a video regarding what is water (it’s not really about water, it’s about recognition).

    Excerpts from ACIM: “Perception is consistent. What you see reflects your thinking. And your thinking but reflects your choice of what you want to see. Your values are determiners of this, for what you value you must want to see, believing what you see is really there. No one can see a world his mind has not accorded value. And no one can fail to look upon what he believes he wants.

    “You cannot stop with the idea the world is worthless, for unless you see that there is something else to hope for, you will only be depressed. Our emphasis is not on giving up the world, but on exchanging it for what is far more satisfying, filled with joy, and capable of offering you peace. Think you this world can offer that to you?

    “It might be worth a little time to think once more about the value of this world. Perhaps you will concede there is no loss in letting go all thought of value here. The world you see is merciless indeed, unstable, cruel, unconcerned with you, quick to avenge and pitiless with hate. It gives but to rescind, and takes away all things that you have cherished for a while. No lasting love is found, for none is here. This is the world of time, where all things end.

    “Is it a loss to find a world instead where losing is impossible; where love endures forever, hate cannot exist and vengeance has no meaning? Is it loss to find all things you really want, and know they have no ending and they will remain exactly as you want them throughout time? Yet even they will be exchanged at last for what we cannot speak of, for you go from there to where words fail entirely, into a silence where the language is unspoken and yet surely understood.”

    Video: This is Water

  15. Very nice posting

  16. I especially like the dali lama Ytube clip and his views and thats basic understanding and without that its a lost throughout.

  17. Margot Diaz Learned

    Well said!

  18. Pingback: Self-transcendence | Moving On Up a Little Higher

  19. Continuate cos, bravi!

  20. Pingback: Ability | Moving On Up a Little Higher

Leave a Reply

