The Active Ingredient in Scientology

The most active ingredient in scientology is not of scientology.  It was with us long before L. Ron Hubbard.  It has evolved and will continue to long after scientology ceases to attract headlines.  The seed of scientology’s rise and fall is Hubbard’s and scientology’s manic efforts and extreme measures taken to bottle and own and sell it (reference ‘Truth’).   This point is fleshed out a bit more in the latest post at the The Underground Bunker.

It is discussed in greater detail with Larry Flick on the Morning Jolt on sirius xm.  To listen to it do the following:

a. Go to the following link, Morning Jolt.

b. Go to the green bar ‘OutQ on SoundCloud.’

c. Scroll to ‘Marty Rathbun Blows The Lid Off Scientology…’

37 responses to “The Active Ingredient in Scientology

  1. Saw you on Today Show last Friday. Awesome job.

    Page H. Hall

    Executive Director

    CASA of the Coastal Bend

    361 779-5497

    page@interconnect.net

    http://coastalbendcasa.wordpress.com/

  2. In the interview the analogy to a roach motel is apt, ‘check in but don’t check out…’ although the organisation seems to be trying for a Hotel California situation, ‘you can check out but you can never leave…’

  3. Marty, terrific just terrific. I am, as I’m sure so many are, so very, very happy for you. And your continued sharing of yourself is appreciated, on many levels. Sending you a big warm hug from the Land of Enchantment.

  4. Great interview. So appreciate how you share yourself with me and all listeners. Your guidance has and continues to help me shed my layers of entanglement with the methods and personalities of scn. For this I am grateful. Love to you and your family.

    Only one personality failed to get her public credit for help on your path. Your other loyal companion, Miss Chiquita.🙂

  5. Still Awakening

    Really enjoyed the interview. The truth continues to shine like the sun on a clear day. It shines light into the shadows and dark areas. This light also shows the approaching end of the tunnel out of ignorance due to the darkness bubble.
    Another direct link (that only requires to sign-up for Soundcloud) is this,

  6. That was one fantastic conversation, Marty. The guy interviewing you created a wonderful environment for the talk. Really, really enjoyed it. Was great to hear you in a space where you can express such important feelings and ideas.

    • Marty, I’ve just listened to your radio interview and I must say I agree that you sound serene and peaceful. This is quite amazing considering the harassment and turbulence you’ve experienced. However, you’ve given yourself the quiet and room to look at a different way of life.

      I listened with understanding when you talked about things coming to one. I was trying to explain this to a friend-still-in the other day. I was trying to convey to her that it isn’t necessary to be continually driving yourself – to the contrary.

      Because I’m alone a lot too, I’ve found a harmony and calm. I’m peaceful. I’m fortunate that I’ve always enjoyed my own company but for the past few months I’m more and more totally on my own. I love every minute of this and wouldn’t have it any other way.

      In Afrikaans there’s a saying, “More (pronounced “mora’) is nog ‘n day.” It means, “Tomorrow is another day.” I’m laid back, insouciant, do things when I feel like it. I don’t have ‘GOT TOs”, or “HAVE TOs”. I’ve thrown out the thought of what incomplete cycles can do to one. It just doesn’t work for me anymore. This is strange for a scientologist to understand and, as I tried to explain to my friend, it’s not that I’m effect (typical scn conclusion). I’m not effect because it’s how I’VE decided it will be. I refuse to rush, panic or become hectic.

      I achieve so much by being on my own, that I get what I want and what I think about. It just comes to me – no force. I also go with the premise that there is a season for things. It’ll come to you when the season is right. Paradoxically, the season for me comes around very each time. It’s not a matter of waiting but the time is right, it’s smooth.

      It’s hard to explain this to someone who’s been indoctrinated to “DO IT NOW! MAKE IT HAPPEN! BE CAUSITIVE! I am making it happen but in a different way. I laugh a lot. I’m genuinely happy! My life is kind, gentle and my lifestyle laid back. I don’t know rush, panic or hecticness, I don’t tolerate it.

      I’m not unable or unwilling to be forceful and when needed I can be frighteningly so. I’m also not waiting for life to happen, to the contrary. I believe anyone who has reached a similar state will grasp what I’m talking about. It’s not easy to convey in words.

      In case anyone’s wondering, I have a successful career rewarded financially abundantly. I’m not a sloth.

      • Oh, yes – I, like you, do not regret my scientology experience.

        How else would I be able to fully understand and appreciate where I am today if I hadn’t been bound in the prison of belief which is scientology?

        • Funnily enough, Starship, I’m from South Africa, too, and also have a friend I’m trying to explain this concept to, too. My experience is similar to yours. I wonder if it’s the same person! Ha, ha.

          Yes, life is very different outside of the bubble – if you let it be. LIke you, I am learning a new, more harmonious and clam way of life enrichment. It works and there is little “wait” – I believe I understand just what you mean.

          Marty says it excellently. I have found I solve problems this way, get new ideas, understand rather profound concepts more quickly and it just flows, is smooth and with little effort.

          Go well with this, Starship. Great show, Marty! So glad I could witness it!

  7. Fantastic!

  8. Michael Fairman

    An illuminating and thoughtful conversation. Marty, you are in a wonderful place of, as the interviewer put it, serenity, regarding these last years’ madness. The supreme irony is that those in the church are spending years, treasure and effort to achieve that ‘serenity” and move further and further away from it. You continue to be an inspiration to all of us — especially Norton. My love to Mosey and William.

  9. You didn’t have to speak out. You don’t still have to speak out. But you did and you do. That makes you a frikkin’ hero in my book. To those who took the money and ran, fuck you. To those who think less of you for ditching “the tech”, fuck you too. Mr Rathbun, truly the best to you and your amazing family. Thank you!🙂

  10. Yes, great interview and thank you for sharing it.

    Interesting when you mentioned that you don’t believe in anything. I can see the point as we now know where ‘belief’ can lead one.

    Not regretting having spent year in this adventure, if we can call it that way, is something I share as well. If we would not have had this opportunity to go through this blind belief, we would not have come to realize the value of one’s own real life, the way to live it, and the freedom to be what you think.

    Is like life itself had a hand on some of us going through this, like a little ‘slap’, so we could actually wake up, leave this rote ‘isms’ and find our own path.

    Good to hear from you as always.

  11. Terrific Mark.

    Unquestionably — our past is our treasure and the only thing that cannot be taken from us.

    How one views, relates to, expresses and utilizes his/her past is the difference between being in hell or being in heaven on earth.

    It is this very life that propels us forward …

    Thank you —

    Love,
    WIndhorse

  12. It does not take a rocket scientist to know that if the CofS did not have money to fight back with, it would have been destroyed 50 years ago by those who wish to destroy it. LRH knew that a workable, easily understood application of his ORIGINAL discoveries (be, do and have: space, energy matter; Q1, etc etc etc, along with lots of money to fight back with, and hard work and dedication by its supporters is what will win the day – Scientology will be victorious.. because it WORKS in practice; and it is getting more powerful and influential with each passing year. Haters are haters.
    There will always be condescending, judgmental haters in the world who under the guise of “help” are only trying to do GOOD, as they believe that ONLY they “know best”. How can you say that you “LOVE your family” when you JUDGE and HATE something that gives them “solice” and purpose. Its their life, get your own life!!! If Scientology is not for you, no problem – carry on! But keep your nose, your condescending, feel good opinions and judgments out of any adult persons business. Not cool, by any standard. Do an honest days work for an honest day’s pay and things will get better.

    • Soderqvist1: If you adhere to principles of Scientology then why don’t you
      take your own Creed more Seriously?

      THE CREED OF THE CHURCH OF SCIENTOLOGY
      That all men of whatever race, color or creed were created with equal rights.

      That all men have inalienable rights to think freely, to talk freely, to write freely their own opinions and to counter or utter or write upon the opinions of others.

      Soderqvist1: I am a Secular Humanist who adhere to The Universal Declaration of Human Rights by UN, I can live with your opinions why can’t you do the same?

      Article 1: All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.

      Article19: Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.

      • Peter,
        These are not the haters “opinions” – these are allegations of criminal acts – wire tapping?? human trafficing?? blackmail ?? – just to sell a movie. Seems like Marty and Mike flip flop on their “opinions” about CofS to make a dollar, its all about the buck!! First he would audit people and supported Hubbard, then he supported the Indies, now Hubbard is full of shit… he needs to de-program people, anything to make a buck!! A 15 mins of fame seeker.

        • You are wasting your time and money defending your dying church.

          For your own good, think about why you are being coerced into this kind of internet behavior you’re engaged in right now. Are you on an ethics program? Do you honestly think you are “striking a blow” against “enemies?”

          Hey, why does your church have “enemies,” anyway? Isn’t that weird? What other church has “enemies” that must be smashed?

          Your church is shrinking. It is reaping what it has sowed. You know it is shrinking. You see how empty your own org is. You know its stats are down. You know it’s dead.

          Please, for your own good, stop wasting your time “defending” it.

        • Beastie Girl, you have not done your homework on Hubbard. Get yourself educated then come back and talk. Soon, you will have egg all over your face because the truth is pouring out not only about the CofS, that’s the least of it, but about your founder, your holy man, your god, L Ron Hubbard.

          What’s being exposed or is already been exposed is documented evidence. Best you get up your confront, stop being delusional and get out from under the bus – QUICKLY! Start washing the egg off your face.

          I recommend Piece of Blue Sky by Jon Atack; also Messiah and Madman. The latter is on the internet, as far as I know, free of charge.

          Girl, get with the programme!

        • Well done, whomever, for spotting this blip on our screen. Shame man! I’m embarrassed for you, BeastieGirl. Take off your blinkers.

  13. Marty,
    Although I’m a never-in I have been reading your blog for a few years now.
    I remember the day I could read it without looking up abbreviations and words related to Scientology. I remember the day I watched a video of you and Mike fishing, talking about your experiences and the both of you laughing so hard (and I laughed right along with you). I knew then that the two of you were going to have a good life.
    I wonder how many, like myself, are silently cheering you on. My guess is there are a lot.
    I have been moved and humbled by the courage you and others have shown by speaking out. I wish you and your family the very best. Katherine

  14. One word describes this interview: Sooth.

    adj.
    1. Real; true.
    2. Soft; smooth.
    n.
    Truth; reality.

    Thanks for assisting me (and without a doubt many others) freedom from physical, mental and spiritual slavery.

  15. Marty, the radio interview was superb. Thank you so much.

  16. I really enjoyed listening to this. Your father was a wise man suggesting the Book of Job. I’m sorry he didn’t live to see how well you have evolved out of the Scientology prison of belief. I’m sure he would be very proud of you for speaking out.

  17. Exposing and eliminating corporate scientology is a goal well worth achieving.

  18. :seeing you evolve, and speak of your tuning in to the universal energy and consciousness, has brought such a big smile to my face/soul. keep reading, learning always, no regrets.: .kao

  19. That was a very thoughtful and considerate interview, and I loved Larry’s insightful questions, which show me once again just how much is visible from the outside.

    Marty, you have given me real hope that I can experience this serenity, too.

  20. What a great interview.

  21. The “we” are better than “them” ingredïent.

  22. Tremendous interview.

    It is great to see the spiritual peace you are feeling- even despite the persecution and the dirty tricks and harassment that you and your family.have faced.

    I loved the bit about fishing. It’s incredible what some time outdoors in nature doing something like that can do for you. You’ve inspired me to figure out a time to go fish again soon.

    In fact I would say you inspire me greatly in many ways. Thanks for sharing your journey.

  23. Excellent interview! As always your insights guide me in examining my own experience. The religionizing of psychology said it for me! Great way of looking at it. Thank you!!

  24. Good stuff Marty…I have a song you might enjoy especially knowing I voluntarily resigned the IAS in 2000…it’s less lonely today. The title is “Selling The Truth (Do you believe?)” and speaks to your very point.
    Best.

  25. I wish there was a “like” button on this blog. The likes would tell such a story. Marty, you’re a gem. Your blog is one of my favourites. I look out every second day in case there’re more words of wisdom from you. You grow, we grow! What progress! What excitement!

  26. one of those who see

    What a wonderful interview. Hugs to both of you. Will be watching the movie on Sunday. I’ve been reading here pretty much since you started writing. I wrote for the first time as a person out of the Church, but under the radar back in 2010 I believe. I got some auditing in the Indie Field. And I also have been reading Lao Tzu, Buddha, Eckhart Tolle, Rumi etc… It is probably the Eastern Thought within Scientology that I loved the most. So now I am swimming in it. Lovely. You sound great Marty. Thank you once again for being there for all of us. Thank you to Mosey for being there for you.

  27. Thanks Marty for a wonderful interview.

Leave a Reply

